Proclamation of 1763


This Page Describes the Proclamation of 1763, Issued After the French and Indian War


Home >> United States History >> American Revolution >> Causes and Effects >> Proclamation of 1763


American Revolution

Causes and Effects
American Revolution Interactive
People of the Revolution
Printable Activities
Online Activities
Battles List
Clip Art
Who is Your Founding Father?
Revolutionary Flags
Make Your Own Map!


Proclamation of 1763
Stamp Act
Townshend Act
Boston Massacre
Boston Tea Party/Intolerable Acts
First Continental Congress
Second Continental Congress
Common Sense


Declaration of Independence
Treaty of Paris
Articles of Confederation
Constitutional Convention
Federalist Papers
Bill of Rights
Federalists vs Republicans
French Revolution
Jay Treaty
Citizen Genet
Newspaper Wars
John Adams’ Presidency and the XYZ Affair

Major American Wars

French and Indian War
Revolutionary War
War of 1812
Mexican-American War
Civil War

Proclamation of 1763

Proclamation of 1763

Issued on October 2, 1763, the Royal Proclamation of 1763 was intended to regulate the lands west of the Appalachian Mountains awarded to the British in the Treaty of Paris. In the proclamation, portions of the newly acquired land were organized into the large districts of Quebec, East Florida, West Florida, and Grenada. In these territories, Parliament encouraged the issuance of land-grants to veterans of the French and Indian War.

The Proclamation also called for conciliatory actions toward the Indians. Land-Grants were forbidden “beyond the Heads or Sources of any of the Rivers which fall into the Atlantic Ocean from the West and North West.” In other words, British settlers were forbidden to settle west of the Appalachian Mountains. Those who had already settled in such lands were forced to relinquish their property. In addition, private purchases of the land from Indians were prohibited, and all issues involving land in the western territories were to be handled by Parliament.

The Proclamation of 1763 was extremely unpopular with the colonists and fur traders. Many simply ignored it. In 1768, Parliament acquired additional lands from the Iroquois Confederacy in modern-day western New York, Pennsylvania, West Virginia, and Kentucky as part of the Treaty of Fort Stanwix for the purposes of settlement.